The Firearms Forum - Gun Community  
TheFirearmsForum.com
FOUNDED: February 9, 2001
If you prefer to make a donation by check,
send an email to Support for the mailing address.

Go Back   The Firearms Forum - Gun Community > Merchandise > Feedback Forum

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2003, 03:05 PM   #1
warpig
Adnanced Senior Member
 
Posts: n/a
Default Fishy deal...

AntiqueDr
Moderator
Posts: 362
(7/2/01 10:26:41 pm)
Reply | Edit | Del All Fishy deal...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sold a rifle on GB back in May, a Remington 700BDL in .270. Buyer was a NR, didnt worry me too much - I get a lot of those. Buyer claims to be an FFL, got USPS Money Order and FFL right on time. Then the buyer (user name "Hayward") emails me saying they have moved and wants to me to send the rifle to another address. Big-time illegal, I wont do it, told him so.

FFL is for "Apex Rifle Co, 5410 Commerce, Flagstaff AZ." Verified FFL through EZCheck, boxed up the rifle and off it went. And then it came right back. Stamped 'MOVED NO FORWARDING ADDRESS.'

Now it gets really weird. I have had the money AND the rifle since 5/21 or so. Not a word. Emailed "Hayward" and he said, "Oh, haven't got the new license in yet. No hurry." Called ATF Licensing Center in Atlanta - the lady that takes care of AZ doesnt have a change of address form on them. Emailed "Hayward" and told him I am sending his money back less the final value fee - I dont need this kind of business.

Oh, looks like he bought another rifle on 6/30... wonder what THAT license looks like...


Purveyor of Fine Firearms to the Enlightened Few
www.apaxenterprises.com

LIKTOSHOOT
Senior Chief Moderator Staff
Posts: 1183
(7/2/01 11:33:15 pm)
Reply | Edit | Del Re: Fishy deal...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AD, he ain`t related to "Haywood U. Sume" is he??? Smelly is right.

AntiqueDr
Moderator
Posts: 363
(7/3/01 5:28:14 am)
Reply | Edit | Del Re: Fishy deal...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
At the very minimum and assuming everything else is on the up-and-up, these folks are operating from an unlicensed premises.

OR.......... someone got ahold of some FFL copies from a business that went out and is trying to pull some crap!

Either way, count me out.


Purveyor of Fine Firearms to the Enlightened Few
www.apaxenterprises.com

M Opaliski
Senior Chief Moderator Staff
Posts: 210
(7/3/01 7:11:13 am)
Reply | Edit | Del
Re: Fishy deal...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sounds like a good move on your part, no need to draw undue attention.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Support your RKBA ... Buy a Firearm!
NRA Life Member
Talk Radio Junkie
opaliski@hotmail.com
TheFirearmsEnthusiast

-->
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

STILL SEARCHING FOR SOMETHING? TRY THE TFF "GOOGLE" SEARCH ENGINE BELOW!
Google

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013, TheFirearmsForum.Com