|
![]() |
|
|
TheFirearmsForum.com
FOUNDED: February 9, 2001 |
If you prefer to make a donation by check,
send an email to Support for the mailing address. |
|
|
#1 |
|
*Site Network Webmaster*
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Site Control Panel
Posts: 11,654
|
I've just spoken with Bob Langcaster of Auction Arms.com and it is imperitive that ALL of you who are auction buyers, sellers or dwellers be informed of the identity theft attempt (below) that
was attempted and caught by my company before they were sucsessful. TFF is very greatful to Auction Arms.com for providing this info and pursuing this matter in effort with TFF to keep internet criminals like this from stealing our members identity. Please read the following, which is what my company was emailed, then our forwarding of this info to AA and then AA's - Bob Langcaster's immediate response to my emailing of this info was. __________________________________________ Hi, I received the following email and I am suspicious of it's actual origin and authenticity, please verify. From : <Operations@AuctionArms.com> Sent : Sunday, March 14, 2004 2:07 AM To : "***@****.com" <************> Subject : Abnormal Activity Notice "WARNING, TFF MEMBERS DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW!" Dear Auction Arms Member, Due to abnormal activity performed on your account we need you to verify your identity in order to continue beeing an Auctionarms.com member. Follow the link below and complete the verification process. Otherwise we will have to suspend all your current activites on our site. There is no reason for you to worry, this simple routine check will resolve this issue. http://www.auctionarms.com/help/log_in.htm Thanks for using Auction Arms! _________________________________________________ Manny Dela Cruz knows who I am therefore, if the above email is legitimately from Auction Arms, then please verify and I will at that point click on the link contained within the email as requested. I went direct/straight to my AA login screen and logged in a few minutes ago and had no problem at all, this is why I am suspicious of the above email sent to me, as none of your on-site email links the email link, nor can I find a link at AA that matches the one I'm asked to click on, which only leads me to what appears to be the AA login screen anyway. I don't go through a login link sent via email in case it's fraudulent, identity theft is rampant these days and it's not very difficult for these creeps to impersonate AA's login screen or anyone elses in order to hack in. Thanks! Regards, Steve / AKA-Admin The Firearms Forum.com http://www.thefirearmsforum.com (***) ***-**** __________________________________________ Hi, Steve, Bob here from Auctionarms.com You are correct. Please don't respond to these emails. A hacker/Scammer has spoofed our email addresses and is attempting to obtain your userid and password, or install a virus/hijacker program on your computer (I hope you do have virus protection for general security, not just for this specific instance. There are a lot of nasty ones out there.) If you are able to view the email header detail (all the gobble-d-gook with numbers and routing codes) please copy it and send it to me. We've had this attempt from several addresses and are working with the appropriate ISP administrators on hunter/killer missions. I just want to check that we've already caught the address of this one. AuctionArms.com will never ask you to respond to an email to provide this information directly, rather, we would ask you to take the below approach using our update process directly on our site. If you haven't responded to this email, you won't have been compromised. If you did click on the link and enter any information, that information has now been compromised. We believe this SCAMMER may have obtained your email address if you recently responded to a question from a user asking about shipping to New York. Of course these accounts have all been disabled. Here are a list of recent scammers to ignore. We are putting counter-measures in place so you'll be safe even if you inadvertently respond to them and to their later scams to get your password. rifleloverboy riflerockets rifleloving theOneTrueSniper armsseller m4a1lover gunsandrosesrifles m4a1_addicted armsbinder riflelover SCAMMERS FROM 3/9 Ceslobozma Killing_Spree SareGardu .. As a precaution, please log in as you normally do. Go to our Help and Information page and click on the link that says "How do I update my email address, password, etc.?" Then as a precautionary, check that all your information is correct and then choose a new password and secret word and enter it. (remember your password and secret word). You will receive an email to your current registered email asking you to click on a confirmation to make the changes effective. (This keeps a Scammer from taking control of your account by changing the email address) Your account will be temporarily disabled and will remain disabled until you click the confirmation. This will protect you if the scammer was in any way able to compromise your security. If you have any questions, you can email or call me at ***- ***-****. Thanks for the heads up, Steve. We appreciate your business and your help in keeping AuctionArms.com the BEST internet site for firearms auctions. Regards, Bob Lancaster Executive Vice President AuctionArms.com TFF gives it's official endorsement to Auction Arms.com for it's fortitude & tenacity in helping bring internet criminals to justice! TFF Administration
-->
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
*TFF Admin Staff Mediator*
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Minn-eeee-sota, ya, sure, you bet!
Posts: 9,144
|
Also, members, please be aware that this same sort of identity theft scam is in a number of Emails purporting to be from eBay. They ask you to click on a link in the Email and give all sorts of personal information to "update your account".
DON'T DO IT! It's an identity theft scam. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Advanced Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,218
|
these emails are also happening w/ paypal!! so, BEWARE!! dont go to any links that you receive from "paypal". a few months ago, paypal sent out a warning email ~ making their users aware of this problem!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
V.I.P. Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 152
|
Thanks for the heads-up.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
*TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: At SouthernMoss' side forever!
Contributor
Posts: 13,853
|
I has a similar contact over a year ago involving E-Bay.
__________________
![]() ![]() The flag represents a living country and is itself considered a living thing. The only criminal class native to the United States is Congress. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
|
Steve, thanks for helping us get the word out to the firearms community about these scammers. We appreciate it.
Vigilantibus, et non dormientibus, jura subvenient The laws assist the vigilant, but not to those who slumber Regards; Bob Lancaster
__________________
AuctionArms.com --Arming the Internet Generation-- |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
*Admin Tech Staff*
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SW MS
Contributor
Posts: 10,651
|
Thank you as well, Bob, for your part in making us aware of this situation.
And BTW, welcome to TFF! ![]()
__________________
My Second protects your First "I declare to you that woman must not depend upon the protection of man, but must be taught to protect herself, and there I take my stand." - Susan B Anthony |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
*TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: At SouthernMoss' side forever!
Contributor
Posts: 13,853
|
Ditto, SouthernMoss, AA-Bob.
Delighted to have you here.
__________________
![]() ![]() The flag represents a living country and is itself considered a living thing. The only criminal class native to the United States is Congress. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Adnanced Senior Member
Posts: n/a
|
Thanks Tac and Bob, may these scammers all rot in hades.
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
Advanced Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: THE FORUM MASCOTT...
Posts: 12,482
|
Quote:
LOL mike Oh yeah.......Welcome AA-bob !!!
__________________
Where O where are you tonight? Why have you gone and left me alone? I searched to world over and a thought i found true love... You met another and PTThhh you were gone.... |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|