180 gr 357 mag loads

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by ggtgary, Dec 1, 2009.

1. ggtgary

ggtgary New Member

I am interested in loading Sierra 180 gr fpj bullets for a 357 revolver. Has anybody had experience with Hogdgon lil gun powder with this bullet? I have found data for Nosler 180 gr partition bullets with this powder, but not for the 180 grain Sierra fpj. What I have found is Alliant 2400 powder data, but it has higher pressure and lower velocity than the lil gun powder with the Nosler bullet. I have a stock of the Sierra 180 gr fpj bullets and want to know if using the lil gun powder would be safe. My interest in this load is for defense (not hunting) against large dangerous animals at close range, so extreme accuracy is not an issue.
  2. Snakedriver

Snakedriver New Member

I've been reloading for 30 years and have never heard of a Hodgdon powder called "Lil". I have a bunch of old & new loading manuals and none of them mention a powder call "Lil" either.

For .357 Mag's. with 180 fpj's I'd use H-110 / W296, 2400 or Blue Dot. IMO experimenting with unknown powders would be dangerous. :eek:
  3. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Snakedriver, Hodgdon Lil'Gun is about in the same burn rate range as H110/WW296. It's one of "them new powders" that they came out with a few years ago targeted mainly at the big-bore revolver cartridges. Honestly, it looks to be a near-twin to H110 in performance so I'm not sure why it was introduced...

ggtgary,
    I don't have any data for Lil'gun for .357Mag in my manuals but Hodgdon's online manual has loads for that powder and 180gr Noslers (I'll guess that's where you got the data from?)

As for swapping in the Sierra 180gr for the Nosler. That shouldn't be a problem, both have a very similar shape/jacket style. Just start with the recommended starting loads for Lil'Gun and a 180gr and watch for pressure signs as you work up.