1853 Enfield Glad to be here!

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 3, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

twamd80driver
    (6/27/01 8:59:40 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All 1853 Enfield Glad to be here!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Thanks for the welcome! I am new to this era, mostly WWII Carbines and Mausers. I got this rifle from my GGG Grandfather....through the demise of the previous GFs, and I am trying to figure it out. It a Crown then ahead of the hammer it has tower 1862. on the opp. side it has a proof mark 25 proofmark 25 proofmark. Aft the trigger guard on the bottom it has a cartouche of some sort 1/4" wide and bout 1 1/4" long. Its there but I just cant make it out. I dont know what it could be, and that makes it rough, but it is evident, just unintelligable to me. The bayonet has just a few marks and has the scabbard with it. They lived in PA so it must have been union as there is no CSA anywhere on it. As I mentioned it has a springfield rod, and I want an original enfield. Any help on being able to furthure ID this 3 band and leeds on an original ram rod would be appreciated. Also if someone knows of an expert in the Cleveland OH area that might help would be great! Have a good day all! Chris

polishshooter
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (6/27/01 11:16:12 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: 1853 Enfield Glad to be here!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The 3 band Enfields were purchased, imported and used by both sides early in the war, and the same .58 cal paper cartridges were used in both the Springfield and the Enfields, even though the Enfield is nominally .577. I'm not surprised it has the Springfield ramrod, as they were interchangeable, and once an original Enfield rod was broken, they wouldn't get replacements, especially when so many Springfields were "laying around."