1858 Bison

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by JLA, Apr 2, 2009.

1. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

My wife bought me an 1858 Bison model from Traditions, Its a really neeet revolver but im brand new to the world of cap n' ball reolvers and am requesting sort of a crash course in the proper use, break in, cleaning, and what you more seasoned cap n' ballers might preferr when it comes to powder, bullets, percussion caps, grease, solvents, etc. etc. etc. I can tell im gonna have alot of fun with this. I just dont wanna ruin it before i learn to use it...

Thanks,

JLA
  2. olyinaz

olyinaz New Member

Others are more seasoned than I but I'll suggest .454 balls (whatever ball you use check to make sure that the cylinder shaves off a nice neat ring all around the ball when it's stuffed into the cylinder by the loading ram).

FFFg black powder is the best if you can get it (start with 25 gr and then season to taste) but Pyrodex "P" (for Pistols) or another black powder substitute will work. All of the substitutes are a bit harder to ignite than black powder but they work. All of the substitutes (that are suitable for pistols) will go bad if they get a lot of humidity (they absorb water) whereas real black powder will last pretty much forever. Some of the substitutes like 777 do not have much (or any) sulpher in them so they stink less.

Most folks would suggest that you use either a lubed wad on top of the powder between the ball and powder or put some bore butter or other lube on top of the balls to prevent cross chamber ignition and possible multiple chambers firing at the same time. In a brass framed revolver it will often destroy the pistol and of course you could get hurt. I use pre-lubbed wads available in the shops and check for a good ring shaved off the ball and I've never had a problem.