1911 extracting nasty brass

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by 312shooter, Jul 27, 2010.

1. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

A recent trip to the range to develop some pet loads for a SA 1911 milspec turned up this nasty little habit. Only the last round in the mag gets chewed up on extraction, this occurred with factory Springfield and MCcormick magazines, 9 different load variations that were tested, which included three different powders and charges as well as three different brass manufacturers under 230gr Hornady XTP's. I nearly eliminated ammo/load issues as the cause but admittedly I am a newb in the 1911 world; I am thinking extractor or recoild spring. Is this a common 1911 trait? Any input is appreciated>

Attached Files:

• 031.jpg
      031.jpg
      File size:
      55.9 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2010
  2. johnlives4christ

johnlives4christ Former Guest

good lord that is horrible looking brass. i've never seen anything like it. it looks as though you have tried to cycle the empty brass through the gun . i cannot think of any thing that happens in extraction that would cause such damage.
  3. pkcgbifaid

pkcgbifaid Member

The only time I see cartridge cases that chewed up is when they fail to eject and the slide moving forward smashes them in the action. Is this happening?

I would check your ejector. If the ejector is damaged or missing, the loaded cartridges in the magazine can give enough of an upward "push" to help eject all the previous fired cartridge cases, but on the last shot there is nothing there to provide that extra push so the last shot fails to eject.
  4. Jay

Jay New Member

Put a spent case in the chamber, with an empty mag in place. Slowly draw the slide back, and see if the mag follower is knocking the case out of the extractor before the case can eject....
  5. SmokyBaer

SmokyBaer New Member