1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

1911 Finish

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by neilin, Nov 7, 2009.

1. neilin

neilin New Member

I have a Springfield Armory 1911-A1 that I carry. Normally, I carry it in my waistband. The parkerized finish tends to give a bit of a drag on the clothing during a draw (also, has some unsightly blemishes), so I am considering removing the parkerized finish from the sides of the slide to give the metal a smooth bright finish. Does anyone have an opinion on the best method to acheive this? Or, an opinion as to whether this is not even a good idea to consider? Thank you for any thoughts.
  2. rocklinskier

rocklinskier New Member

I am NOT an expert on this, others here are better equiped, but I do know a lot guys will just use 0000 steel wool with a very light coat of oil to polish the finishes on guns.
    If your finish is rough enough to hang onto clothing, you may need a more aggressive method. Maybe talk to a local gunsmith?
  3. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member

Why not just buy a good quality holster and gunbelt and save the finish ?
  4. Bill DeShivs

Bill DeShivs Well-Known Member

Removing the finish is a bad idea. It will leave you with bare, carbon steel-which will rust the first time you carry it in your waistband.
    Go with Shooter .45s advice, or have the gun professionally refinished by upgrading to hard chrome or nickel. Bluing offers less rust protection than Parkerizing. Parkerizing offers less protction than nickel. Hard chrome offers more protection than all of them.
  5. muddober

muddober Active Member