.204 Ruger and .17 remington

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Newgun123, May 27, 2009.

1. Newgun123

Newgun123 New Member

what are some of the ups and downs of these two calibers and what bullets are best shot out of them? Just wondering if any one had a lot of experience with these two I have recently purchased a 204 and a 17.
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  2. GMFWoodchuck

GMFWoodchuck New Member

I want a .17 remington myself. I'm intriqued with thought of keeping my eyes on the target through the scope as I fire.

I have no experience though. But I hear good things. Accurate and perfect for varmints. The only "downfall" is that while some people use the .22's calibers for deer with the right bullets, there are zero bullets/ammunition on the market that allow for anything bigger than a coyote for the 20's and the 17's.

You would be happy with one. Again, like I have said in many other posts, it's not so much the caliber or even the manufacturer of the gun. But how you like the way it feels when you are holding it.
  3. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

I've known friends that have used the .17Rem with 25gr HPs for years on varmints and furbearers up to coyote size.
    It's a great little prairie dog & fox round but if shot placement isn't "just-right" on a coyote it can run out of steam on longer shots (200yds or more) or sometimes just "grenade" on the hair if you're pushing the velocity to max load levels. The .17 isn't all that great at bucking wind either...those 25grs get pushed around pretty easily.

I just picked up a .204 a few weeks ago but am still waiting to get it scoped out so I haven't spent any time with it on the range or in the field yet. It's an impressive cartridge on paper and it's lethal on prairie dogs. Retained energy, trajectory, and wind drift are darn near identical to the .22-250.