.223 / 5.56 question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by AR guy, Nov 20, 2012.

1. AR guy

AR guy Member

As you all know im new to reloading. I was reading that post at the top about the .223/ 5.56. i loaded my first rounds lastweek and after reading all the replys im starting to second guess myself.i loadrd lake city brass with a.224 .55gr. fmjbt bullet and charged it with 22.5gr of 322 hodgen powder. after hearing that military brass is different than comm. brass. and before i fire it and something mite happen. is that recipe good? i just want to be safer than sorry in the long run. the post replys were talking aboit space left over after loading and i got all confused. let me know please so i can rest easy.
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Where did you reference your recipe, (min, max)? Recipes that I'm finding all list around 21gn as the start load. 22.5gn is med-high to near max depending on which 55gn bullet.

I would suggest starting at 21gn and working it up from there.
  3. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

Is your rifle a 223 or a 5.56?

According to Hodgdon a "Start" charge of 322 is 21gr with a Max of 23gr. You are right in the middle and should be OK, but you should have started out with 21gr.

Load a few more starting at 21gr working up to your 22.5gr. You should be fine, but it's always best to be safe and start low and work up.

As for the Brass case capacity, odds are your LC brass has MORE case capacity the commercial 223 brass, but odds are for card players and not for guys making little bombs set off a few inches from ones head and face.

Here, this may help, from Sierra.