.223 military crimp question?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by socalfamous87, Dec 5, 2011.

1. socalfamous87

socalfamous87 New Member

is their anyway around the crimping removal from the primer pocket? i know rcbs make a die but ive heard alot of complaints. dillons looks like a great one but pricey. is their anyway around it?
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

I don't know what kind of complaints you've heard. I've been using the RCBS one for a few decades now, on the only problem I've ever had was when I got careless and it bit me.
    http://www.thefirearmsforum.com/showthread.php?t=64590&highlight=bit

If you don't want to swage the crimp away, you can cut it off. There are tools specially for it, and you can sometimes do it with a chamfer tool, or just a pocketknife (although that takes a while).
  3. socalfamous87

socalfamous87 New Member

people would say they would brake the rods all the time. gow much is the tool? like $30?
  4. mikld

mikld Active Member

There ain't no way around removing the primer crimp, has to be done if you want to stuff another primer in the pocket. Cheapest and easiest way is to get a small drill, larger than the primer pocket, and champher the pocket edge enough to remove the crimp. For a bunch of years I've used a 60 degree countersink to lightly champher the primer pocket on my used military brass. I've heard the RCBS tool is good, but I haven't needed one...
  5. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

I bought a bunch of military once fired brass (308 and 50BMG).