223 reload question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by jhanhart, Jan 13, 2012.

1. jhanhart

jhanhart New Member

Hi all just a quick question. I'm reloading 223. Rem cases with 55 grain Hornady fmj. Varget powder. When I add 25.5 grains of powder in cases it almost fills the case up. You can still put the bullet in and set it but you can't hear the powder shaking around inside. I'm new to this I've reloaded 100 9mm 50 270 rounds had no problem they shot great. But I was just wondering if this was to much powder. Thanks
  2. Dirtypacman

Dirtypacman New Member

I have not adopted the find the right powder and load recipe that allows you to fill the brass to its max, but others have and don't seem to have any problems. I know for a fact a few of my reloading friends do so on pistol calibers as to assure there is never a double charge or overcharge - it would be very easy to spot when the brass/cartridge overflows.
  3. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

It is called a compressed load. Loads become compressed when the powder of choice has a burn rate that is on the slow side for cartridge. Varget is on the slow side for the 223. That does not mean it is a bad choice, on the contrary it is a good choice for the 223. It just means you have to add more powder to get the same results as if you were using a faster burning powder.

Compressed loads are desired by many handloaders (me) and usually produce ammo that is both accurate a very consistent.
  4. ChuckR

ChuckR Member

jhanhart,