.223 reloading tips

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Tmergen24, Aug 11, 2012.

1. Tmergen24

Tmergen24 New Member

Im new to reloading and the first caliber I'm starting to reload is .223 any advice ?
  2. BlackEagle

BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Tmergen24 welcome to the forum. This is a great place for getting help with lots of experts happy to share their experience and wisom.

The only dumb question about reloading is the unasked one. Better to ask a question than have an "accident". So ask away all you want.

You'll find we're a friendly bunch with strong patriotic opinions and a great sense of humor. Enjoy the forum.

What twist rate is your barrel? Twist rate can influence what weight bullet you use.

What kind of gun are you reloading for? I see reloading for AR15's getting different treatment from bolt action.

Are you reloading for target shooting, self defense, or hunting?

What reading/training have you done so far?
  3. Tmergen24

Tmergen24 New Member

It is a bushmaster carbon-15 with a 1/9 twist a 16 inch barrel and I will be using it for mostly target shooting
  4. Tmergen24

Tmergen24 New Member

And I've read a few manuals and watched quite a few videos and think I have the basics down
  5. BlackEagle

BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Mine's a Styer Elite, same twist.

I have three kinds of cases I've been using, so have developed loads for each case.
    I've developed the following loads using the 69 grain Sierra Match King heads.
    I use Vihtavouri N-140 and Remington, CCI, and some German brand of primers.

For the PPU cases: 24.6 gr. N-140
    For the PMC (military) cases: 22.4 gr. N140
    For the FNM cases: 24.4 gr. N140

For my rifle, the best cartridge overall length is 2.340 inches.

These work well for my rifle.