223 Remington vs 5.56x45mm reloading help

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by mtls44555, Feb 26, 2012.

1. mtls44555

mtls44555 New Member

Hello, I am new to reloading my own rounds and I have this book that gives me all of the information on how to do so. It does not how ever tell me the measurements the 5.56x45mm, can i use the 223 Remington measurements ? Are they the exact same and is it safe to use that type of ammo in my (Stag)AR-15?
    Any help would be appreciated.
  2. BlackEagle

BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum, mtls. You're sure to find lots of help here. There are some real experts here who will be more than glad to help. Enjoy the rest of the forum, while you're here.
  3. Conman

Conman Member

4. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

Only difference is 5.56X45 rifles have a longer leade and are proofed for higher pressures.

Yes you can use the .223 dies and measurements to load 5.56X45
  5. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

BTW, Im gonna move this thread to ammo and reloading.
  6. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

First, welcome!

Second, what do you mean by "measurements" ?

The 223 Rem and the 5.56 are identical as far as the handloader is concerned, only the lead/throat in the rifle chambers differ. You use 223 dies and 223 loading data.
  7. mikld

mikld Active Member

This comes up often enough to become a sticky. How about it JLA?

I first ran into this "problem" a bunch of years ago, when I was shooting 5.56 surplus in my .223 Handi Rifle. I got pierced primers with 5.56 ammo (mebbe 4-5 out of 20), but not so with factory .223, 50 grain SP. I believe it was 55 grain FMJ, which is on the edge for stability with a 1-12" barrel...
  8. American Leader

American Leader Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard mtls44555 from the "GREAT STATE OF IOWA"!
  9. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

Ill stick it if it helps. :)
  10. OldFotoMan

OldFotoMan New Member