22lr revolver 9 shot

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by ms6852, Jun 10, 2009.

1. ms6852

ms6852 Member

I would like to get a 22lr 9-shot revolver...any suggestions, recommendations?
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Only nine-shot 22 revolver I can think of is the High Standard. They are not made anymore, so you'd have to look for used. There is the Double Nine, which looks like a single action cowboy gun, but is double action, and there is the Sentinel, which looks like a modern double action gun.

I think the H&R break-opens were eight-shot. Smith and Wesson makes a ten-shot.

I had a Sentinel Mark IV, with both cylinders. Wish I hadn't sold it. It was a great gun. Smith and Wesson revolvers are some of the best made. I have no experience with H&R.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Speaking of High Standard, read the thread called Cheap Treasures, in this section.
  4. jamesjo

jamesjo New Member

H&R's were 9 shot. The Sportsman models were excellent shooters, as were many of thier other less expensive models.
    Prices are however rising quickly for the nicer condition pieces.
  5. DKA

DKA New Member

H&R 929, built like a tank, very good but getting expensive.
  6. ms6852

ms6852 Member

Thanks guys, will look into the H&R's and S&W.
  7. user

user Active Member

Northern piedmont of Va. and Middle of Nowhere, We
    I had one from New England Firearms, a fine gun. I traded it for ammo. Have other .22 revolvers, so this one was redundant, and harder to find parts for & get gunsmiths to work on. But cheap. I bought it from a hole-in-the-wall gunshop in W.VA. for $150, and traded it for $300 worth of 9mm. I've seen 'em for as little as $75.
  8. dragonfly

dragonfly New Member

The High Standard Sentinel is a great revolver. But the price is rising. I had one with a 6 in. barrel years ago that was stolen with some of my long guns. it was a really great revolver, and as stated already, very accurate. DF
  9. Teejay9

Teejay9 New Member