.270 wsm load problem

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by huntnaz, Sep 6, 2007.

1. huntnaz

huntnaz New Member

i would like to introduce myself b4 i start rambeling... my name is jimmy and i am from Az, i have a tika .270 wsm that i would like to start reloading for. I have tried to start but i have run into a problem that hopefullu someone can help me with...

remember i am new to reloading so i apologize if i am a bit slow at understanding what you are telling me :eek:

i have loaded about 10 rounds but when i put then in my gun they dont fit in the magazine (too long) and if i put one in the chamber the action wont close.

what could it be?
  2. AngelDeville

AngelDeville New Member

Sounds like the bullet isn't seated properly and/or your cases are stretched.

What kind of reloading data did you use?

and what type of equipment?
  3. Mark

Mark New Member

I'm not getting enough information to help.

Angel is right about length. If they don't fit in the mag, length could be an issue. Gee, at this point, you might have so much powder you can't seat the bullet, who can tell?

Slow down and explain exactly what you have and what you are doing. There's lots of guys here that are eager to help out a new guy.
    Mark
  4. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

If your rounds do not fit into the mag or chamber then the bullet is not seated deep enough. What is the cartridge overall length(COL) of your loads? To get this you would use your calipers and measure the total length. You should be somewhere around 2.80in for starters. If you do not have a set of calipers, you need to get one.
    What loading manuals do you have?
    What kind of dies are you using, Full Length or Neck sizing?
    Is the brass you are using new, once fired from your rifle, used range pick-ups, etc?
    Does a piece of "Resized" brass fit your chamber before you seat the bullet? Are you "Lubing" the inside of the neck when sizing?
  5. huntnaz

huntnaz New Member