30-30 reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by kar298, Mar 22, 2004.

1. kar298

kar298 New Member

first off i want to say hi this is my first post in this forum.
    I am just getting into reloading and i was wondering what type of powder, brand of primer, and weight and size of bullet does every one use to reload there 30-30 rifles with. I will be using these to hunt white tail deer.
  2. Marlin

Marlin *TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*

Glad to see you at TFF, kar298.

I hope you will join in the fun and festivities often. You will find that we have a very congenial bunch of folks here at TFF and that the collective knowledge about guns, shooting and all other related subjects is second to none elsewhere.

I am just starting reloading myself and can't help you on the .30-30 but I'm sure one of our experts will be along soon. My experience so far has been limited to the .30-06 and .270 Win.

Attached Files:

3. Country101

Country101 Active Member

Welcome to the forum, Kar298! I'm in the same boat as marlin. I cant help ya out with the loading stuff yet. Somebody will be along soon with some great advice for ya.
  4. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Welcome kar298. Glad to have you aboard. Here is some reloading data for your 30-30.

30-30 Reloads

Lots to choose from. You need to figure out what bullet you want to use and then again what components. It is usually an individual choice here.

Good luck and let us know if you have any more questions. I would buy a good reloading book made by the manufacturer of the bullet you select. They are the best source of information on their products.
  5. Marlin

Marlin *TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*

Handy tables IPT.

Thanks!
  6. JohnK3

JohnK3 New Member

Also check out LoadYourOwn for lots of good information on handloading.