300 Win Mag Likes new brass?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Guest, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Dry Powder
    (1/12/03 5:21:22 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All 300 Win Mag Likes new brass?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have developed a good load for accuracy (Sub 1")
    75 grns RL 22 for Nosler Partition. Using Winchester Brass.

When I use the brass for the second time Gun is inaccurate
    (3" group), [I reload in other guns, no such problem]. Any ideas or explanations.

The gun seems snappier and maybe more recoil, does this make sense. The gun is awesome with new brass.

Gun is a 300 win Mag from Sako in Stainless synthetic.

AGunguy
    *TFF Staff*
    (1/12/03 6:51:38 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: 300 Win Mag Likes new brass?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I'm not very good at rifle reloading, but having recently ran the gammet of trying to load .223 ultra small base loads for a really tighta$$ chamber in an Armalite .308, it might be the casenecks have swelled and lengthened on you. Plus, the shoulder and bottom of the cartridge brass may have swelled a bit more on you.

After all, you launching them buddits with 75 grains has got to do something to the brass.

Got dial calipers? Start measuring everything, necks, shoulders, base etc. Oh, and neck brass thickness too.

I really don't like loading bottle neck brass...but thats just me. Lots of folks do it to perfection.

Hope one of those gents comes along and gives you some better advice.

Gunguy

kdub01
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (1/12/03 8:51:13 pm)
    Dry Powder - Welcome to the board! Hope you will join us in all the many forums here and partake of the discussions.