.303 rifle identification

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Modemagic, Oct 20, 2012.

1. Modemagic

Modemagic New Member

Hi all! I'm by no means an expert at rifles so I'm hoping you all can help.

I recently inherited this (I'm told) a .303 rifle from my late father in law. I'm hoping with the pictures someone will be able to help identify this rifle.

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks all!
  2. soundguy

soundguy Well-Known Member

looks like one of them invisible guns the british special forces used?
  3. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

when you get the pic's up we'll be happy to help

welcome aboard!!
  4. Modemagic

Modemagic New Member

Pics are here... :-/

Attached Files:

5. Modemagic

Modemagic New Member

And a few more pics here.

Attached Files:

6. Modemagic

Modemagic New Member

Sorry for the delay in pictures guys... that's what I get for trying to use the tablet instead of the desktop. :(
  7. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

this could well be one of my butcher jobs

its a 1944 rebuilt in 47 ( total refurbished stamped on it )

now sporterised

value not a lot take off $100-$200 for the sporterising job from a decent quality original

lot of export markings

this is common a lot of folks bought these in budles of 100 and sporterised them for the local market

here i did similar turning many into 22/250's or 308's

looks like the original barrel so would say its still .303
  8. Modemagic

Modemagic New Member

Can you tell anything about who manufactured this rifle? I know my later father in law owned it for at least 35 years.
  9. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

manufacturer can be traced by the numbers . give me a while and i'll get up my list and respond
  10. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

Royal Ordnance Factory Maltby
  11. Jim K

Jim K New Member

The rifle is (or was) a Rifle No. 4, Mark 1, made by BSA, Shirley, Code M47, in 1944.