.338-50BMG

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Guest, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Alphamale
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (5/23/01 1:55:35 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All .338-50BMG
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Posted this at Livefire's too, thought it would be good for discussion. I'm pretty new to this reloading business and am just throwing some idears out to see if they sink or float.

What would be the main problems(besides cost) to necking down a .50BMG to say .338 or .375?

Would the expansion ratio(I think that's the term) be all screwed up? How bad would throat erosion be? Would chamber pressures be too high?

If you necked down the .50 what would you neck it to?
    Remember: It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye, then it's just fun!

Kdubya
    (5/23/01 2:30:49 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: .338-50BMG
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    going down to .22 might be a little overbore!
    Keep off the Ridgeline!!

oldguide32
    (5/23/01 5:05:35 pm)
    There are already commercial rifles and equipment using the 50 BMG necked down to 375. The State Arms sells a nice looking rifle for about $1800. I have a video that they sent me. Shows them shooting a pig. Killed it, too. They also sell the regular 50 BMG rifle. My old room mate has a nice single shot rifle in 50 BMG and I've shot it quite a bit. Nice toy but he now has almost $4,000 in the gun, scope, reloading stuff, tripod, et al. I just cannot afford that much fun.

Alphamale
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (5/23/01 7:49:29 pm)
    OG, do they have a website? That would be something to look into, just for the I got one and nobody else around here does.