38 Special, 9mm, 357 Magnum

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by PapaGeno21, Jan 6, 2010.

1. PapaGeno21

PapaGeno21 New Member

Hey guys, Im new to pistols. I was handed down a mint (100 shots or less) Stainless Steel S&W Model 639 9MM pistol. I really like this firearm, and always wanting a revolver, so I picked up a Ruger GP100 6" Stainless Steel 357. I have about 150 shots through the 639 and 100 through the GP100. I am interested in reloading for both of these, and have been saving my brass.

I currently own a Lee Turret press, and all the goodies that goes along with it as I load for my 30-06 and 22-250. I used to load .223 but I sold my AR so no need for that anymore.

Anyways, down the the questions. I have noticed the 38 Special and 357Mag have the Cannelure in the bullet, but the 9MM does not. These are Winchester store bought rounds. Does it matter if I was to purchase the bullets for the 38 Special without the cannelure? Im assuming the die just puts a slight taper press on the bullet to hold it in place right?

Also im looking for reccomendations for powder. Looking through my Lee Book, I see that "Unique" is listed for all 3 of these and takes a smaller charge to accuire the same FPS as other powders. Is this a good powder to go with if a store nearby carries it? Which other ones would you reccommend?

Also, how long does the brass for the pistols last? Will I have to trim the cases at all, or just keep cleaning and loading them? Will they need lube on the Lee Carbide dies?

I apologize for all the questions all at once, I just figured I would type it all out and see what I get for responces!

Thanks a ton!
    - Geno
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

The Unique is an excellent,diverse and popular powder if you find data for all three I would recommend it.