.40 S&W Dimensions

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Jefflesh, May 3, 2004.

1. Jefflesh

Jefflesh New Member

First of all I must warn you that I am new to the world of reloading. That being said, I have a few questions concerning the .40 S&W load. I picked up the reloading book "One Book / One Caliber" I am thinking that this was a wast of time and money. Anyway, the book specified that. The book states on page 41 to adjust the die to produce a firm taper grip. That is fine in all but, what is a firm taper grip?

I decided to get a little better book and purchased Lyman's 48th edition Reloading Handbook. Page 341 contains the information for the .40 S&W load. The round drawing on the top of the page states that the crimp diameter should be .423"; the problem is my case only measures .422"; I set my crimp to be .419". Is this sufficient or should I change it to something else?

Furthermore, the dimension OAL length is specified at 1.135. However, in the section for a 135 grain projectile 1.085" is specified as the OAL. In the first book it staed that 1.085" is the minimum OAL. Is it ok to increase the OAL to something more than 1.085"?

Press Information: Dillon RL 550 B with Dillon dies.

Any help would be great!!

Thank you all for your time.

Sincerely,

Jeff
  2. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Hi Jeff and welcome to TFF. Let's see what we have here. First off, it took me a while to find a load with a 135 gr bullet. Finally found one in Lee's loading manual.

might want to read that again. If it is true, then what I would guess they are referring too is a "taper crimp" which grips the bullet in the case mouth. I recommend a taper crimp die for any auto pistol round as the case headspaces on the front rim of the cartridge.