.40cal in a 1911 pistol???

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by chocoboy, Dec 11, 2003.

1. chocoboy

chocoboy New Member

I read somwhere (not sure if it's in this forum) that .40 cal is not advisable for a 1911 pistol. Something to do with pressure in the chaber. They say that .40cal ammos produce more pressure than the 1911 can handle compared to .45 cals. thus making the round unreliable for self-defense. Please...someone shed some light into this. It would surely be nice to have a Kimber CDP in .40 cal... less recoil n more rounds. Sometime soon... I hope :cool:
  2. tuckerd1

tuckerd1 Well-Known Member

I'm no expert here, but the 1911 is strong enough to handle pressures much higher than the 45 ACP produces. It is the 45ACP case that is the weak link. The case is not fully supported at the ramp point of the barrel and thus leaves a portion of the case that does not have steel enclosing it. The 45ACP case is too thin to handle very high pressure because of it's wall thickness.

The 45Super, 45SMC are externally the same dimesions of the 45ACP but have thicker walls designed to handle higher pressures. These cases can produce pressures much higher than the 45ACP.

How well the 40 performs in the 1911? Not familiar with it.
  3. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member Supporting Member

I have owned several 1911's in .40 cal.

The Para P-16 had a Briley ramped match barrel.

My race gun used a Schumann ramped barrel.

No problems.

The recoil on any 1911 in .40 or .45 is hardly noticable.

BTW, the .40 cal is a reliable self defense round.
  4. chocoboy

chocoboy New Member

so why don't they make more kimbers in .40 cal? Why is the .45cal still the preferred caliber? From what i know the .40cal is much much better that the .45 in terms of stopping power. More speed and still has the mass of a good bullet. Well, i could be wrong. Correct me if i am :p
  5. 45Smashemflat

45Smashemflat Active Member

Good question to stir up some stuff!!