45 Auto/ 45ACP

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by Silverfoxsequim, Nov 29, 2007.

1. Silverfoxsequim

Silverfoxsequim New Member

I'm fairly new to 45 cal since I have had Glocks for years in 9mm. I recently got a new Sig 1911 in 45 auto. I see all the commercials around for other 1911s in 45ACP. Is ACP the preferred cartridge? As far as I can tell the brass is built a little different but that's it. Just wondering out loud. :)
    Thanks.
  2. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member

The .45 acp round uses a rimless case. Thats why the round looks different.
  3. Jay

Jay New Member

ACP = Automatic Colt Pistol, as opposed to .45 long colt.
  4. Silverfoxsequim

Thanks guys. Is the ACP the "preferred" cartridge now a days? Doesn't make a bit of diffence, but just curious. Inquiring minds, and all that.
  5. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

I guess that would depend on who you are asking... A lot of guys love the Long Colt, it is a cartridge that is designed for a wheel gun. The .45ACP is mostly used in automatics but has been adapted for use in some wheel guns as well. I like the ACP

The bullet diameter is the same....

Crpdeth
  6. berto64

berto64 Active Member

45 ACP seems to be the favorite for the 1911 Platform but they are also available in 38 'Super' and 9mm. (9x19)
  7. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

45 Auto and .45ACP (Automatic Colt Pistol) are the same cartridge. Just different names for the same thing.

And, yes.....the 45 Auto/ACP has been a proven, superior, "manstopper" for more than 100 years.

It was first developed for the John Browning designed Colt Model 1905 Auto Pistol and was adopted by the U.S. Military along with the Colt Model 1911.
  8. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

I'm a bit confused. The ".45 Auto" and ".45 ACP" are the same cartridge. Are you talking about the .45 GAP (Glock Auto Pistol) compared to the .45 ACP (Automatic Colt Pistol) cartridges? Both of these are used in auto pistols.