The Firearms Forum banner

.45 caliber pistol bullets in .50 rifle

3K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  XP100 
#1 ·
Does anyone use .45 caliber pistol bullets in sabots in .50 muzzleloader rifles? I'm looking at my options to save money on shooting and this seems to be the best one. I'm seeing around the net that some people even hunt this way.

#2 ·
How would this save money?

A .490 round ball will cost less than a dime, while a 45 JHP is gonna cost close to a quarter, and you still have to buy the sabot.

I be puzzled. :confused:

#3 ·
Wouldn't the .45 bullet more accurately mimic the typical hunting round with a sabot? Honest question, I'm new to this. Are balls the typical practice bullet?

I've never owned or hunted with an inline rifle. In the past I've only used traditional-style with homemade lead bullets from my uncle.

#4 ·
i actually dislike sabot rounds. seems harder to clean.

my favorite is round balls patched with old tshirt and bore butter. lay material on muzzle, push ball in then start with short ram to flush ball, cut wadding, ram home ( after charging of course.. )

#8 ·
I watched a bunch of youtube videos on these Powerbelt bullets last night. They're a little more expensive, but I like the concept behind them. For anyone who isn't familiar, there's no sabot. The bullet has a plastic bottom piece that creates the gas seal. These bullets also eliminate most of the plastic from sabots being left behind in the barrel.

#11 ·
I watched a bunch of youtube videos on these Powerbelt bullets last night. They're a little more expensive, but I like the concept behind them. For anyone who isn't familiar, there's no sabot. The bullet has a plastic bottom piece that creates the gas seal. These bullets also eliminate most of the plastic from sabots being left behind in the barrel.
i hate getting the plastic out which is why i like patched balls now.

kills paper cheap and fine!

#13 ·