.45 colt crimping ?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by weirdbeard, May 1, 2009.

1. weirdbeard

weirdbeard New Member

Heys guys I am new to reloading and was looking for some information and knowledge on crimping so I don't blow my arm off. I will be loading for a New Vaquero .45 colt. My main question is on crimping and cannelure. I am use Lee carbide pistol dies and was wondering if they will give me the roll crimp that looks like it comes when I buy factory rounds. Is it even necessary for a roll crimp. Also on most cast bullets it looks like there is a groove for the crimp...is this correct and why do some don't have it? Sorry for my ignorance any tips would be great. Thanks
  2. 3ME

3ME New Member

I crimp. Some guys don't and if you are careful handling the rounds and will be shooting them only in a revolver, it probably does not matter. The argument for not crimping is that your brass sees less stress and will last longer. It also may stretch slightly less. The main argument for crimping is to prevent the bullet from moving — especially from being pushed deeper into the case and possibly causing a compressed load. This become especially critical when the rounds will be shot through a tubular magazine, like a lever action rifle.

If the bullet has a cantilever, I crimp in the center and crimp just hard enough to hold it there. You don't want to crimp so hard that the case crimp cuts into the bullet or where you are seeing any deformity of the brass of bullet.
  3. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member

Yes, roll crimp. The lee factory crimp die does a wonderful job:). if you don't, the bullet can walk out of the case and jam the cylinder:(.
  4. JLA

JLA Moderator