1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

45 long reloads, Help.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by smokey salsa, Dec 5, 2008.

1. smokey salsa

smokey salsa New Member

Im starting to reload, never done it before, my dad has only done rifle reloading. I have a 45 black hawk. this is what i have, Hodgedon Titegroup powder, hornady 300gr jhp bullets, and i have Winchester brass. my question is i cant find how much grain of powder to use, i went to hodgen's web site but i cant find anything on what exactly what i have . also is the Winchester brass the same as Winchester mag. like I said Im new with this reloading stuff and any help would be great.
  2. smokey salsa

smokey salsa New Member

Any Body, Any Body,, Buler ?
  3. smokey salsa

smokey salsa New Member

no one has any info!!!
  4. artabr

artabr New Member

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

You really should study a manual if you have not done so. You'll find the info you need.
    Most of the guys here will give you the same advice.

There is no such thing as a .45 long, just as there is no .45 short.
    You'll find the data you're looking for listed under .45 Colt in the link above. :)

Blue Dot has also given me good results in .45 Colt in my Blackhawk.

Art
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2008
  5. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Yup...a little more homework is in order before you start stuffing your shells.

According to the latest Hornady manual, they are using Lil Gun, AA#9, VV N-110, 2400, WIN296, H4227, & IMR4227 with the 300gr XTP/HP.
    I think Titegroup might be a little too fast of a powder for 300gr out of the .45 Colt. Titegroup will work better for lighter weight cast bullet loads...good for light-recoil practicing before you beat yourself up with those 300 grainers!