.50 Beowulf

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by 2nd Amendment, Jun 24, 2012.

1. 2nd Amendment

2nd Amendment New Member

I am interested in purchasing .50 Beowulf, along with a few other smaller caliber rifles. For the most part I am a newbie when it comes to firearms, especially with bigger caliber guns, but I have always dreamed of owning a .50 cal one day.

I know these are pretty rare, but can any of you owners comment on the rifle itself? And what do you think about a newbie getting a .50 cal?

You know what they say... Go big or go home!

Thanks.
  2. 3/2 STA SS

3/2 STA SS Active Member

You will see alot of them for sale for a reason. Not very practical unless you are at a check point stopping vehicles. The Coast Guard uses them here in Florida to shoot outboard engines on boats that won't stop. Are you going to reload? if not be prepared for some costly ammo.
    I was looking into a .50 caliber Serbu rifle and it was in the 3K range and then ammo was $2.00 a round and the nearest range that is 500 yards plus is a 4.5 hours drive from here so I stuck to my largest calibers in the .308 and .30-06
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  3. gun runner

gun runner Former Guest

I dont really understand why some people prefer that a new shooter should be pointed out to certain guns because the shooter is new. If you want a 50 caliber gun then buy it. Id like to get a Bushmaster or Barret .50 cal but they are just too expensive and the ammunition is high as well. Do you want to hunt with this rifle or just use it for target shooting? If you ever hunted Cape Buffalo, I can almost guarantee you that one 50 cal chunk of lead would go through two of them if right next to each other.
  4. BillM

BillM Active Member

50 Beowulf is NOT 50 BMG!

It's a rebated rim 50 cal that will work in a standard length AR
    rifle. As stated, not really practical, but if you just gotta have
    one go for it. Factory ammo runs around $1.25 a pop. It would