60 gr / 223

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by dhom, Mar 3, 2012.

1. dhom

dhom New Member

I bought a 223 with a 1-12 twist for my grandson and would like to load Hornady 60gr spire point for deer hunting. Does anybody have a good starting point? [favorite load info or maybe a better bullet suggestion etc.] I have many years reloading experience but, not for this round.
  2. cpttango30

cpttango30 Guest

I use 25.0gr of H4895 with Rem brass and a 60gr V-Max in my ar. It produces the groups you see below.

NOTE: This is an AR specific load. I started here http://www.6mmbr.com/223Rem.html

Remember to start low and work up any load not from a reloading manual.

[​IMG]
  3. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

dhom:

The 1 in 12 twist rate in your rifle is a big limiter in which bullet you can use in it. The original M16 was supplied with the 1 in 12 twist and the military found that two slow of a twist even for the 55 grain bullets. The bullet would tumble on occasion. They went to the 1 in 10 for that 55FMJ bullet.

In your case if you stay with the lighter bullet (not the 60 gr bullet you suggested unless it is unusually short) you will get better accuracy. The actual suggested twist rate is calculated based on the length and diameter of the bullet, not its weight. The Greenhill formula helps with this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barrel_twist

It is only a guide and there are even more scientific ways and formulas but in general if you stay with the lighter than 55 grain bullets you would be fine in my experience. There are many to choose from as the 223 is a common varmint round.

A common and good powder to start with is Hodgdon H335. It is a ball powder which flows well through powder measures. See Hodgdon's Load Center on the web for reloading data or get their latest manual.

Good luck.

LDBennett
  4. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

+1 1-12 is typically found in the varmint uppers for AR's designed for the 40-45 grainers.