The Firearms Forum banner

7mm-08 Newbie

3K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  karlrudin 
#1 ·
I am new to reloading, haven't loaded a single cartridge yet in fact. I have 160 cleaned and decapped and I am thinking of going with a 140gr Nosler Accubond or Nosler Partition. The powders i am considering are Ramshot Big Game or Varget. Any suggestions or comments on these combos for a noob? I have a Remington 700 and would like a good starting point to work from.

#2 ·
My Nosler manual is too long in the tooth to list those powders, but my Hornady manual shows Varget for their 139gr bullets starting with 33.5gr and a maximum of 41.5gr. Lee shows a slightly higher max for 139gr and 140gr so the Hornady data should be safe. The best I can do with Ramshot Big Game is point you to their load data: http://www.ramshot.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/WP_LoadSpec_1-23-14.pdf

I've used a 140gr Nosler partition to take a few head of deer in my 7x57 Mauser so either bullet should be good for big game depending on if you want to maximize penetration or long range performance.

#4 ·
I've not used AccuBond, but my impression is that they use a bonded core to get similar weight retention and penetration as the partition. At that range either would work fine on Whitetail as you don't need the extra accuracy of the AccuBond.

If pressed to choose I would go with partition out of personal familiarity with the deadliness of the partition. If you have the Lyman 49th manual then you can read in chapter 12 where the author says the Accubond is his "go-to" bullet choice.

You might find this helpful: http://www.chuckhawks.com/nosler_hunting_bullets.htm

#5 ·
If you're just starting reloading and only hunting whitetail,why do you feel the need to start with the highest quality,most expensive bullets out there?Hornady,Speer,and others offer bullets for half as much that will kill whitetails every bit as succesfully.They aren't "cheap" bullets.JMHO.

#6 ·