1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

9mm browning

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by lang, Oct 3, 2009.

1. lang

lang New Member

im new to guns so bear with me. recently i was cleaning out my dads house and i found a browning 9mm, from what i can tell it has herstal belgigue on the slide, an MR on the trigger guard, a small eagle above the trigger and i think on the end of the barrel, rear adjustible sights, the inside of the handle is red for some reason and has a 5 digit number stamped on the barrel, slide, and above the trigger. if anyone can narrow this down it would be a great help. if it matters my dad was stationed in germany in the late 50's and early 60's.
  2. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

Well its hard to be sure without some clear pictures, but for my money you may have a quite rare and valuable Browning Hi Power made in the early days of German occupation. You need to have a close look at those eagles and see if they have swastikas underneath.

Reason is the eagles suggest German occupation of the factory. The tangent rear sights were abandoned as soon as parts ran out, so if German it will be early. Original WW2 wood grips produced at the time had red paint on the inside.

Let me be clear, without good pictures I cant be sure, just a best guess.
  3. lang

lang New Member

i never looked at it that close before but it DOES have a swastica under the eagle, what does this mean, is this good or bad?
  4. lang

lang New Member

id just like to know some history on the gun if its rare. regaurdless if its worth 100.00 or a 1,000.00 id never sell it cause it was my dads.
  5. Kieran McCaig

Kieran McCaig New Member

post some pics will ya
  6. lang

lang New Member