9mm crimp question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by merrill, May 3, 2009.

1. merrill

merrill New Member

I am new to loading for autoloading pistols and am wondering how much crimp should be placed on the cartridge? If the bullet is deformed slightly where it is crimped is that dangerous and if not, what is the disadvantage of doing so? Thanks for any help you can give. BTW the pistol is a KalTec PF9 and I am using 6 gr. of VihtaVuori 3 N 37 under a 115 gr. bullet which according to the Lee manual is a mild load.
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I personally would back off a little on the bullet seat/crimp die. I don't think that the bullet should be deformed after crimping. You basically want a very slight crimp, just enough to hold the bullet in place so it doesn't move when the gun is fired.
  3. merrill

merrill New Member

Thanks gdmoody I was getting setback and badly cratered promers and could not figure out why I assume that as a result I was compressing the load hence getting high pressures so I increased the crimp but was getting slight deformation of the bullet.
  4. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I don't know it for sure, but I would imagine that if it were heavily crimped, that could cause higher pressures. I just looked in my Hornady #7 Manual and it shows that the maximum charge for the Viht 3N37 for a 115 grain bullet to be 5.9 grains. Try backing off about a half a grain of powder.
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  5. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I always thought you never to crimp 9mm. It should be tight enough after re sizing. Test a loaded round by pressing hard against a bench. Clearly if the bullet pushes in, pull it, dont fire it.
  6. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

7. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

TranterUK: