9mm not ejecting

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by DixieLandMan, Jul 30, 2012.

1. DixieLandMan

DixieLandMan Member

Ok, I started shooting some reloads that I whipped up. 6.7 grains of No.7 under a 115 FMJ bullet for 9mm and they failed to eject all the way. They would jam up after every shot. Checked OAL and it was fine. Switched to some reloaded JHP and no feeding problems at all (except for 1 where I forgot to seat a primer). Before I pull them all any ideas what happened? Not enough powder? People I was shooting with said that it may be too much powder.
  2. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

DixieLandMan:

That load is an Accurate Arms starting load and may be too light for your gun. The limits are 6.7 to 7.8 grs of AA#7 for a 115 gr FMJ bullet according to the load data on their site. I think you would be safe to load them up to 7.2 grs of AA#7. Try that to see if the gun then cycles.

Semi-autos are a balancing act between the recoil and the mass of the slide along with the force of the recoil spring. If the recoil spring is to light the gun gets beat up and if it is too strong it won't handle light loads. I think you might be in this latter category.

http://www.accuratepowder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/accurate_load_data_3.5.pdf

LDBennett
  3. Hugh357

Hugh357 Member

Had the same issue with Alliant Power Pistol in my XDM9mm 3.8"(5.3 grains). I had loaded up 300 rounds and took a good sample outside and 5 out of 5 hung up. Back to the reloading table and I pulled a cross section sampling of the loaded rounds and pulled the bullet and measured each charge of powder. They weighed 4.3, +or -, grains. I felt ridiculous so it was pay back time for NOT paying attention. I pulled all three hundred bullets, RCBS puller, and had to reload all three hundred rounds a second time. The bullets were Berry and the puller deformed them enough I did not feel comfortable in using them again. The second reloads worked just fine. Duh.