A good C&R rifle to convert to a Hunting rifle

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 4, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

mckheean
    (7/9/02 3:46:38 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All A good C&R rifle to convert to a Hunting rifle
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I would like some input on a good C&R rifle to convert into a deer rifle.I do not want to take a collector grade and mess it up.I would like one that you can buy a scope mount and new stock without a lot of work and will also look good when finished. Thanks Benny This is my first time on the board.

Xracer
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (7/9/02 4:19:48 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: A good C&R rifle to convert to a Hunting rifle
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hi mckheean......welcome to TFF.

Guess it all depends on what kind of hunting you like to do, and what size game you hunt.

Almost any of the Mauser action military rifles will do the job, and the most of the original military calibers (6.5mm, 7mm, 8mm, .30-06) make fine hunting rounds.

The Enfield P14 in .303 British is also a good one, especially the Jungle Carbine is a fine little deer rifle without any conversion at all. The Ishapore Enfield in .308 would do the job nicely too, but I'm not sure if it's C&R.

I'm sure there are others.....anybody have any other suggestions?

WyomingSwede
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (7/9/02 7:49:37 pm)
    The Turkish Mauser in 8mm or the Spanish Guardia mausers in .308 are a good buy. Like the man said...nothing wrong with a used enfield either.

I favor the mausers but I have been accused of favoritism.
    Wyoming Swede

Bob In St Louis
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (7/9/02 8:30:46 pm)