A little money to spend

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by mvmtoys, Jul 26, 2012.

1. mvmtoys

mvmtoys New Member

Alright guys and gals, you all were very helpful with my last post,and like I mentioned I am new to reloading I purchased the Lee challanger anniversary kit,a couple manuals and a loading block, got a little money to spend and want to make the most of it. I have no way to clean brass so I am looking at puchasing the Hornaday sonic cleaner, My thought on this is I like the fact that it gets the primer pocket clean along with the inside of the brass and I can use it to clean up bolts and trigger assemblies on my rifles, without the mess of a tumbler, also looking at a lathe style case trimmer, a set of calipers, a case lenght gauge,and a digital set of scales. Although I do have a scale that came with the kit just not digital.
    I have the reloading bug bad and want to buy every gadget I see at the moment, So I am looking for all of your input on what would actually be benifitul to me, or if you see something that I didnt mention that you think would be better please let me know. Thanks
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    What calibers will you be reloading?
  3. mvmtoys

mvmtoys New Member

for now 30 06 and 9mm
  4. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

If you buy a good set of calipers, you won't really need the case length gauges. If you load .223 or .308 you might need the gauges that tell you that you are within specs for semi-auto rifles.

Digital scales are a good investment.

The type of case trimmer that you mention is harder to use than the cheap ole Lee cutter and length gauge. I just bought a used one and don't like it as much as the Lee things even if it faster.

I am sure there is something you missed but I can't see it right this minute.
  5. mvmtoys

mvmtoys New Member