A new twist on .223 vs 5.56?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gdmoody, May 5, 2011.

1. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

It was the strangest thing I have ever seen. I woke up about 2:00 this morning thinking about .223 vs 5.56. I haven't loaded any .223 in a couple of months so I don't know why I would think of this in the middle of the night.

I have an AR15 that I know I can shoot either one in (5.56 or .223). I have a Weatherby chambered for .223 so I know I can't shoot 5.56 in it.

This is what I woke up thinking about . . . If I take 5.56 brass and load it to .223 specifications, why can't I shoot it through the Weatherby? My answer to myself was . . . yes I can shoot it in the Weatherby.

What do ya'll think about that??

I know that this has probably been talked about before but I can't find this specific question.
  2. Double D

Double D Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

I am no pro but I would guess that is fine. I have had this discussion with many people and in the end there is always division on what can and cant be done. I know a machine shop / smith guy that says he shoots 556 in his ruger 223 and has done it for years without any problems. So, the debate continues george.....
  3. American Leader

American Leader Well-Known Member

I actually load that way George. 5.56 brass trimmed and sized .223 and loaded to .223 specs. I have to admit they seem louder and stronger, but they shoot well. My understanding is 5.56 brass is a little heavier which lessens volume creating more pressure etc. Anyway, it works but if it causes any problems with my firearms I don't know yet. I shoot .223 in Ruger Mini 14 and Rem 700. I always read what I can on this subject and have never found loading data for 5.56, only .223? Good luck gd.
  4. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

The Mini-14 (not Target Model) is chambered in 5.56, it does not say this on the rifle, but it does say this in the manual.