A2 receiver to A3 receiver

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by stephen sams, Jul 4, 2010.

1. stephen sams

stephen sams New Member

I have a Bushmaster AR-15 with a A2 style receiver, I would like to change it to the A3 flat top style to be able to mount optics lower to the barrel bore. Would I be better off to purchase the A3 style receiver and have it installed, or purchase all of the needed equipment and learn to do my own work? thanks for your thoughts.
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  2. Helix_FR

Helix_FR New Member

stephen, it all depends on how mechanical you are. switching uppers receivers is not that difficult as long as you have a armorers wrench and a receiver block. i suggest you watch brownells series on building a upper to see whats involved also go to AR15.com and go to the do it yourself section. I only say this b/c I have run into people that own a ar but don't even know how to field strip it. Sounds to me that you are beyond that and have confidence in what your doing but I don't want you to get into a bad situation if things get confusing.
  3. LonglineCharlie

LonglineCharlie New Member