Absolute Noob Question

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by disturbed13, Nov 26, 2007.

1. disturbed13

disturbed13 New Member

what makes a glock so good?
    everytime i see one or hear something about a glock
    its that they are just so darn good
    why? what am i missing here?
  2. First off, welcome to TFF hedoe. Glad to have you with us. :)

I have moved your thread to the Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers Forum where you are much more likely to get some comment.

Now, in response to your question, the pistol designs of Gaston Glock are among the most controversial you are likely to find if past comments around TFF and elsewhere are any indicator. What it boils down to, I think, is that folks seem either love them or hate them with very little middle ground. I happen to be one of those who likes them a great deal and who shoots and carries them frequently. I see the Glocks as highly reliable and accurate handguns since that has been my experience with them. They are much lighter than traditional steel weapons, a decided plus if the weapon is to be carried daily. I also happen to like the trigger setup on the Glocks, though this is perhaps the single factor that turns some folks against them. It does take some getting used to, but the fact that the weapon may be carried safely without a separate lever-type safety or heavy, double action trigger pull on the first round discharged is a great innovation in my mind, at least in a pistol intended for self-defense use. It is true that the polymer frames of these pistols had some problems when they first came out many years ago, but those problems seem to have been solved in the newer Glocks. I think much of the controversy over the Glocks is simply that some folks are very traditionalist in their view that pistols should be made of steel. They forget that progress does get made and new materials are often better than older ones. Just my $.02 worth.
  3. disturbed13

disturbed13 New Member