Accuracy problem

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by dhom, Jan 28, 2011.

1. dhom

dhom New Member

I have a Winchester 670 in 30-06 that I've been shooting for at least thirty years.I can't get it to shoot any better than 1 1/2" three shot groups at 100yds.I've tried several reloads with 150gr. bullets up to 180gr.bullets from several manufactors including powders H4895,IMR4350,H4350,RL22, and H4831.[Also switching primers]Originally,the barrel was free floating,but I had the barrel and receiver glass bedded in an effort to help accuracy issues.[same size groups still result].I load many more rifle cartridges and have always been able to get better groups of 1" and under.ANY SUGGESTIONS?I cannot seem to find a sweet spot for this rifle.:confused:
  2. the yooper

the yooper New Member

sounds like it mite be the barrel that is a tough one or triger . sounds like u no what your doing . sorry i cant help:(
  3. grcsat

grcsat Member

After thirty years, what condition is the thoat in your barrel . Its not all that uncommon to see a loss of acurracy with a bit of errotion. Also how is the condition of your crown.

In the past I have solved a few accuracy problems when all else failed was to turn the barrel back one tread and rechamber and to cut the muzel 1/2 inch and recrown.
    This was a last resort that did work on some rifles but not all. AND I do repeat as a LAST RESORT.

I m sure you have tryd several differant scopes to rule out a problem with your optics.
    And also checked all scope mounting hardware.

Have you had someone else try shooting a group for you?

Gary
  4. dhom

dhom New Member