1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

ADvice for a Rookie?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by egozi, Feb 11, 2006.

1. egozi

egozi New Member

Wusup yall,

I'm new to this gun thing but for some reason they seem to fascinate me...

Any advice on what i should get for my first?
    I was thinking for some reason a Glock g17 9mm would be nice, but theres so many different options with .45's and all that that i know NOTHING about...

I Definitly want a semi-auto pistol...

Any advice yall can give??

Mainly house protection is what im looking for.
    I was looking for lightweight and pretty easy to fire, so i heard the glocks are pretty light and the recoil is not so bad?

I would be using it to take the range every once in a while and stuff but mostly house protection...

Finances is a big thing too... i don't want to spend too much.

Also, do any of yall by any chance know of a website or forum thats got a good little introductory reading on the basics... differences between calibers, ammo, barrel size, all that stuff? i've been looking for a good (free) resource to gain some basic knowledge and havn't found one yet.

Thanks,
    Ego
  2. Country101

Country101 Active Member

For your situation, I would recomend a basic Springfield 1911. It will be heavier than a glock(I'm assuming here), but the field stripping process is very easy, fires easily, and is safer than a glock(my reason for saying this is it actually has a safety. Both a grip safety and thumb safety.). A .45 will give you better stopping power. The Springfield will also be on the more inexpensive side and still give you a quality weapon. Go to a gun store and hold one and see how it feels. I think you'll like it. Look on the NRA website to see if they have the inof you are looking for.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2006