Advice taken......

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by .308 shooter, Aug 13, 2008.

1. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

Thanks for all that responded to the COMPLETE NEWBIE threads. I'm taking your advice and definitely doing my homework before I start. One thing that came up in my first and last effort so far for reloading is the seating depth.

I've looked at the manual briefly, lot's more in depth reading to do, but I didn't see any specs on overall cartridge length or bullet seating information. I know it probably varies gun to gun, but where do you start? I did see, at least in the Speer Manual, the tested COAL. Should that be the starting point.

I'd normally ask the gentleman who first helped me, but it seems he's not a stickler for following the rules, and I want to learn the correct way.

Thanks in advance.
  2. USMC-03

USMC-03 New Member

Peoples Republic of the Pacific Northwest
    The short answer is to seat the bullet just deep enough for reliable feeding through the magazine. Other than that you can easily look up the SAAMI specifications for over all length of each cartrige through a Google search.
  3. Gene Seward

Gene Seward Member

I started with the OAL shown in the Nosler manuel and they did not fit the mag.. So I got a factory load and used it as for length. It fits and works fine. The other thing you should be sure to do is get all the case sized because I did not have all the bell off the bottom and had feeding problems with my XD. They did just fine in the Glock. My advice is to test a few rounds in the mag. maybe enough to fill it once and test the function, then test for load and accuracy. I know this all sounds rough, but it really isn't and it is sooooo much fun when you get to shoot and see how good you can load. Most of all take your time!!!!
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

308 Shooter:

Most manuals do have the recommended OAL. A few don't. That is another reason to have multiple manuals.