The Firearms Forum banner

AK-47s: What country makes it the best? Warning: I'm a newbie with military long guns

4K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  kfb2b 
#1 ·
I'm sure this has been answered a billion times before, but I can't find the answer around. Please don't hate me:

I've become interested in getting an AK-47. Since there are more countries building these things than you can count, and since they are basically identical (I think), it probably comes down to general quality control and craftsmanship as to which country generally builds the better AK.

In order, which country makes the best to worst version of AK's out there? I'm having trouble finding a Russian one but can get a Romanian. Romanian version decent?

Also, I'm new to these and other military long guns. How easy is it to get 7.62 X 39 ammo? Is it known by any other designation in the US, just like 5.56 is thought of like 223 REM, etc.

Anyway, thanks in advance.

#2 ·
Re: AK-47s: What country makes it the best? Warning: I'm a newbie with military long

Well, if you can find a AK with a milled receiver, you got a good gun. But, most semi-auto's are built from parts kits and usually have a stamped receiver. The best semi-auto AK, IMHO, is one made from a Romanian kit and a receiver no less then 1.5mm thick. (Always ask the seller how think the receiver is, in Millimeters.)

As far as ammo goes, its correct caliber name would be .30 Soviet, but 7.62x39 is what everyone calls it.

#3 ·
Re: AK-47s: What country makes it the best? Warning: I'm a newbie with military long

First off I have had several AK's with stamped and milled recievers and other than the weight of the gun, I couldn't tell the difference while shooting. Romanians and Yugo's are the best ones I have had, The ammo is really easy to find and cheap to buy in bulk. Their is also .223 AK's and 5.45x39 AK's

#4 ·

The one I'm considering is this one, although I'm getting it from a different source (same price, though):