Ammo question. Short barrels

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by Zigzag2, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Zigzag2

Zigzag2 Guest

zombienomore
    (2/15/02 11:29:31 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Ammo question. Short barrels
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Short barrleled .357 mags really bark.

For my 2 1/2 inch 686...........

What are your recommendations for the best defense ammo?

One for carry, one for in the house.

Thanks
    Rog

warpig883
    *TFF Staff*
    (2/19/02 9:51:12 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Ammo question. Short barrels
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I will give it a try zombienomore. I am no expert on handgun ammo but I would think that hollowpoint ammo would give you the best knockdown power and the least penetration.
    We can't be so fixated on our desire to preserve the rights of ordinary Americans... -- Bill Clinton, US President (USA Today, 11 Mar 1993, page 2a)

Edited by: warpig883 at: 2/19/02 9:56:14 pm

Smoky14
    V.I.P. Member
    (2/19/02 10:27:52 am)
    Remington markets a medium velocity 125 Gr Hollow point that I use in my SP 101. It has far less bark that full power 357 but still has far more power than the 38spl+P.
    Rem part # is R357M11

And welcome aboard

Edited by: Smoky14 at: 2/19/02 10:30:05 am

zombienomore
    (2/19/02 9:22:23 pm)
    Are those the Golden Sabres?

Smoky14
    V.I.P. Member
    (2/20/02 10:18:19 am)
    No, they are an exposed hollow point with copper jacket. They seem to be quite effective. The muzzle flash is reduced and the expansion is complete.

I like them. Try a box and I think you will find something you'll think so too.

If not all it cost was a box of shells.

The BOSS, that's Mrs Smoky, really thinks they're the cats ass.

WV Mike
    (2/20/02 7:44:38 pm)