ammo tutorial

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gregw, Feb 27, 2011.

1. gregw

gregw New Member

I am an admitted newbie (55 yrs old, newbie nonetheless) and I really want to learn more about the variances in loads for given caliber ammunition. (if this has been discussed already, please direct me to the thread).

Specifically, I have noticed a wide range of grain size choices in loads. For my uses, I am talking about the .243.

I know that a lighter load won't have the impact on target as say a lighter load. Is that a safe assumption? For instance, will an 80 grain projectile hit with a noticeably less impact as 100 grain? Conversely, does the lighter load have a faster fpi?

I saw that there is a 55 grain load available. What is this best suited for? I am assuming it is a predator load...raccoon, coyote, whatever. As opposed to deer, wild boar, etc (heavier game). Am I on base in my thinking?

Again, if there is a published tutorial or article on line that addresses my questions, I definitely would like to know about it!

Thanks!
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  2. Popgunner

Popgunner New Member

Hi Greg
    in the .243 bullets up to 80 grains are usually for varmints. These lighter bullets have thinner copper jackets. For the intended game (small) the effect is that the energy is used to "blow up" the target. There is little resistance in a prairie dog & so the thin skinned bullet works wel to destroy them. The lighter weight bullet is great for small game but unreliable on large game that 90 grain & higher weight bullets are good for. I've used 90, 100, & 105 grain bullets on deer in the .243 & they have thicker "skins" to penetrate better while the tips mushroom to increase the size of the wound chanel. These bullets for larger game aren't meant to come apart like the varmint bullets do.
    Heavier weight bullets in 243 still kill varmints but not as spectacularly.