Another bound book question

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by nipster, Jun 16, 2012.

1. nipster

nipster New Member

I have some questions, as I am very new to the C&R world.

1. do I have to record C&R "eligible" items in my bound book which I have obtained from retail means (IE: a 1930's era S&W revolver bought from a gun shop) which a form 4473 was completed, and my C&R FFL was not used at all as part of the transaction?

2. As a C&R, do we have the ability to ship C&R firearms (handguns AND long guns) through the USPS? I realize it has to be disclosed and there is a form a the post office to fill out. But there is some confusion as to whether or not FFL03's can ship through USPS or if it's just FFL01's.

3. A followup to question 1. If ALL C&R eligible items have to be recoded in the bound book, items which I have obtained through the retail channel, I have receipts, but not FFL numbers of the gun stores I bought them from. Will just name and address suffice? Or will I have to go back and get their FFL number to record in my bound book?

Thanks for the info in advance.
  2. Hammerslagger

Hammerslagger New Member

I was never a collector, and have not been a FFL-01 in many years.

I would go to the ATF website to find definitive answers to my questions, rather than seek it at forums.

I have the experience (more than once) of ATF agents not knowing the correct answer to a question on a technical issue. It is good advice "to have it in writing from the ATF" before you do, or fail to do, something.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
  3. FlashBang

FlashBang Member

1= you only record firearms that were purchased using your 03 FFL. You do not record anything you owned prior to getting your 03 FFL. If you buy other firearms that are not C&R you do not need to record them in the Bound Book. This includes antiques as well.