(Another) H&R Model 929 ID

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by vermontevan, Jun 22, 2011.

1. vermontevan

vermontevan New Member

I have the potential to acquire a very clean H&R Model 929.

The serial number is AN102227.

Other markings:
    on barrel Model 929
    22 CAL.
    under cylinder: H&R inc. gardener, mass u.s.a

i am no expert but i would guess it is in %90+ condition...

Looking around the forum it seems like a good gun that many people have fond memories of.

When was it made?
    What is the current retail value of it?
    Can I fire modern .22 lr in it? I am guessing yes since looking at other threads serials its probably late 60s, early 70's
    Are there any other calibers of .22 it can shoot? I have never had a .22 revolver before and don't know if it makes a difference.

Thank you in advance.:)
  2. Jim Hauff

Jim Hauff New Member

vermontevan,
    Welcome to the forum.
    Here's (another) response on your (potential acquisition) 929:
    >It was made in 1975. It is a 2nd Model (1974-1986) and should be equipped with the transfer bar safety/ignition system.
    >RETAIL value depends upon condition (obviously, duh!) and barrel length/frame type - standard issue - with 6" barrel is the most common, 4" is the most scarce, 2 1/2" is the second most common. In an honest 90% condition the "standard" is currently selling in the $125 - $150 range (on average). Add about $20 bucks for a 4" barrel. The 2.5" barrel seems to be very popular and you can add $25 for the snubby with the rounded butt. ( I like rounded butts).
    >Your piece can handle any factory loaded .22 rim fire round made today - short, long, long rifle; subsonic, standard, high speed, hyper velocity; even shot shells.
    >Your question concerning "other calibers of .22" is answered above.

Since you didn't post a picture and I like posting pics of my guns, I'm attaching a pic of a very early 929 simply because I think it is really cool.

IMG_1457_4.jpg