Another old 32 Revolver

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by RogerWilco99, Mar 27, 2009.

1. RogerWilco99

RogerWilco99 New Member

Hi folks! This is my first post on this forum. I'm not new to forums but I'm new to this one. So, howdy! :)

Now, on to my question.

My father has a Colt Pocket Positive that has .32 Colt marked on the barrel. I believe that this is .32 Short Colt (32SC). The only cartridge he has for it (he used to have a box of 50 but he's fired those over the last 55 years. The box of cartridges came with the gun when he got it out of hock back in 1952. But he's thrown away the now empty box.

I've compared the one remaining cartridge to pictures of .32 Short Colt bullets and they appear to be identical. I got a box of .32 S&W Short and they are not the same size as the one that fits this weapon.

I've looked around a good bit and can find no ammunition or even reloading dies for this gun. I did find that RCBS will make them as a special order. I can find brass and bullets but no complete cartridges.

Is making my own loads for this weapon going to be the only way to go or am I going to have to pay the ridiculous prices for "vintage" ammo for this revolver that is also probably pretty dangerous by now (ammo over 50 years old).

I'm told that making my own loads for this weapon is a better way to go or at least buy new ammo because the old powders were pretty corrosive. My father has never cleaned this revolver even though he has fired nearly the entire box of cartridges he got with it 57 years ago. On my next visit, I intend to completely disassemble, clean and inspect thsi weapon. I'm sure it needs it.

So, first, does anyone here know where I might be able to find complete cartridges for this weapon.

Second, does anyone here know the reloading data for this weapon? I found it once on loaddata.com but cannot find it, now.

I can get brass and bullets from MidwayUSA. (fat chance getting primers, though :mad:)