Another request for advice, reloading 45ACP

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by DarkArchon, Sep 11, 2008.

1. DarkArchon

DarkArchon New Member

Hi,

I'm new here, and trying to find advice on reloading. Right now I'm over in Iraq, soon to be out, so the cash I have for ammo will drop a LOT. I wanted to get into reloading while I have the cash for the initial equipment so I could shoot cheaper in the future, but as I'm new to this, I have a lot of questions.

I've read a few of the other posts asking for advice in this area, and come up with a few other answers. I don't expect everyone here to do all the work for me, but if you could answer some of them or point me in the right direction, possibly some guides or tutorials, that would help.

The first question, is what equipment do I need and why? I've read a lot about the press and dies, tumbling/cleaning brass, removing primers, resizing, crimping (what exactly is this?) etc. From what I understand the Dillon press (550B specifically) will do all this but cleaning the brass. Is this true? Do I need to clean the brass? Is there any equipment I'm missing out on, or will that pretty much do it as long as I have the supplies? (bullets, casings, primer, and powder). If I reload other caliber rounds in the future, do I need a completely differnet press, or just different dies?

My second question is, will any casings do? I have a lot of spent casings around, from Wolf to Aguila, Remington, Winchester and Magtech. I shoot about a thousand rounds every time I go on leave, so I usually buy the cheapest rounds I can find at the time. Will these work for reloading? (and once again, do I need to clean them?).