Antique firearm question

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by symphy, Nov 12, 2009.

1. symphy

symphy New Member

I'm working on a novel in which my lead characters find a 100-year-old revolver and ammunition tucked in an old desk in a climate-controlled environment. I have some experience with modern handguns, but not with antiques. Preliminary research shows that century-old ammo can indeed be reliable, as long as it wasn't exposed to the elements for too long. Is there a particular brand and model that someone might recommend for reliability later on? i.e., since the life of one of the characters depends upon the successful and repeated firing of this weapon, I'd like a suggestion of something that wouldn't have horrible jamming or misfires under the circumstances.

All help appreciated! :)
  2. jjmitchell60

jjmitchell60 Active Member

Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o
    True story, about 30 years ago a man here in my local community was tearing down an old log home. In a ubby hole in the fireplace he found an old hand made holster (made from a boot top, on a belt, with a CSA buckle on the belt, and in the holster was on of the old side hammer revolvers that is cap and ball (made in England I think) from the Civil waar. It was loaded with caps on it. He brought it to a buddy of mine wanting the revolver unloaaded. My buddy took it and fired it once, it went off fine so he emptied it that way. Now we are betting it had been in that cubby hole for at least 100 yewars and loaded with cap and ball as well as BP. It shoots fine to this day. So I would use any gun since the 1700s, yes have seen flinters that were made in the 1700s that were found loaded and still shot after 200 years when found.
  3. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member