Any advice about getting a custom built 1911?

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by Dutchboy, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Dutchboy

Dutchboy Member

I've owned a variety of handguns over the years, but never a 1911. Now, a local gunsmith, who seems to be a skilled and decent guy, is going to start manufacturing 1911s in his own shop. That seemed like a good reason to finally get myself a 1911; so I signed up to be on his waiting list.

That was a few months ago, and he's about ready to start the process. I assume he's going to buy rough frames, slides, and other parts. And he will do the fitting and finishing. He will be the official manufacturer of the pistol, per the BATF; so I assume he must be doing quite a bit of work.

I'll be able to make some decisions about what I want, what I don't want, and what I'm willing to pay. But, those details have not been discussed yet. It's a new process for him, and I've never done anything like this before either.

Any advice from someone who's done this before?

What sorts of "options" should I consider for a 1911?
    What questions should I ask in advance?
    How does this "custom build" process usually get done?
    What kind of pricing should I expect?

I plan to use the gun for carry, but I still want a full size 1911. I would like something that's traditional, out of respect for the 1911 design. But, it doesn't need to be be a GI clone. Accuracy is great, but reliability is more important to me. I expect this pistol to be a clean and solid gun that works for a living, not a collectable that rests in the safe. It will be fed a steady diet of reloaded ammunition.

Thanks for your help in making this 1911 a success.
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we