The Firearms Forum banner

...anyone carry an N frame 44 mag. revolver in public?

3K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  troutwest66 
#1 ·
I bought a couple of smaller K/L frames recently and I am able to carry them outside the waist without much trouble. One is a round frame and one is square.

....just now thinking of getting a 44 mag but would do so only if I could carry it concealed.

Does a round frame or square butt make a difference in ease of carry to you? I'm new to revolvers.

#2 ·
Depends both on the style of carry and the grips.

Strong-side hip carry, with a square butt, is gonna be more noticeable than a cross-draw. Round butt with small grips will conceal easier than square butt with small grips,but if they have large grips it don't matter - neither will conceal easily.

AND, rubber grips grab the cover-garment, yelling LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME to anyone that pays attention.

Reactions: raven818
#3 ·
Many years ago I carried a 4 inch 629. I used an all leather "Dirty Harry" style shoulder rig. Had rounded rubber Pachmier grip on the 629. Trying to carry with the S&W full size wood stocks was out of the question. It was too noticeable under light clothing. After about a year of that I started looking for something smaller and much lighter. That weight does get tiresome on the shoulder on 12 to 16 hour day.

#4 ·